Three visual artists and 2 art writers made up this year’s winners for the Ateneo Art Awards’ Fernando Zobel Prizes for Visual Art and Purita Kalaw-Ledesma Prize for Art Criticism.

Martha Atienza (A Study in Reality No. 3), Rocky Cajigan (Museumified), and Nathalie Dagmang (Dito sa May Ilog ng Tumana: A Sensory Investigation on the Contradictory Relationship of Barangay Tumana with the Marikina River) were declared winners for the Fernando Zobel Prizes for Visual Art.  Dagmang was also named recipient of 2 international residency grants:  Artesan Gallery + Studio in Singapore and Liverpool Hope University- Creative Campus in England. Atienza won the La Trobe University Visual Arts Center residency grant in Australia.

For the Purita Kalaw Ledesma Prize for Art Criticism, Pristine de Leon won for her essay “Owning the Image: Exploring Lopez Museum’s Political Cartoons and the Pleasures of Residence.” Part of de Leon’s prize is a regular column at the Arts and Culture section of The Philippine Star that will be published twice a month for a year.

For his entry “Chambers of Reflection: A Critique on Mark Justiniani’s ‘Reverb,” Dominic Zinampan was declared the first winner of the Purita Kalaw Ledesma Prize- ArtAsiaPacific Magazine. Zinampan received a writing engagement with the magazine and will contribute 6 articles for a year.

In his welcome remarks, Ateneo de Manila University President Fr. Jose Ramon Villarin, SJ, expressed his gratitude to all the artists.

“Thank you for generating light, for generative waves and moving us to see your world and transforming us with your art,” he said during the Ateneo Art Awards rites on September 15, 2016 at the Grand Atrium of Shangri-la Mall in Mandaluyong.

The 2016 Ateneo Art Awards yielded 74 nominated exhibitions and 22 writing entries.

“It is heartening to know that on its 13th year, the Ateneo Art Awards continue to grow in depth and breadth,” said Ateneo Art Gallery Director Ma. Victoria Herrera.

Jurors who screened the Fernando Zobel Prizes for Visual Art were sculptor Agnes Arellano; visual artist and Ateneo de Manila University Fine Arts professor Fr. Jason Dy, SJ; multi-awarded visual artist Edgar Talusan Fernandez; independent curator and Bandung Institute of Technology professor Agung Hujatnikajennonh; visual artist, curator and lecturer Angel Velasco Shaw; visual artist and 2005 Ateneo Art Awards winner Eric Zamuco; and Ateneo Art Gallery director Ma. Victoria Herrera. The jurors screened the nominations and came up with the 12 shortlist artists and winners.

The other shortlisted artists were Buen Abrigo, Romina Diaz, Ian Fabro, Ian Carlo Jaucian, Leeroy New, Jose Luis Singson, Ryan Villamael, Liv Vinluan, and Paulo Vinluan.

Jurors who screened the Purita Kalaw Ledesma Prize for Art Criticism were University of the Philippines Art Studies professor Dr. Cecilia de la Paz; Ateneo de Manila University Fine Arts professor Fr. Rene Javellana, SJ; The Philippine Star Lifestyle Editor Millet Mananquil; ArtAsiaPacific editor-in-chief Elaine Ng; and Ateneo Art Gallery director Ma. Victoria Herrera.

The other shortlisted artists were Mariel Aglipay, Jasmine Cruz, Par Patacsil, and Carlos Quijon, Jr.

From October 10 – December 3, 2016, all 12 shortlisted artworks be on display at the Ateneo Art Gallery in Ateneo de Manila University, Quezon City.